93-10-31 Disrupt – Selfish – Uutuus – Hypocritical Society

Posted: May 19, 2012 in VV 1993
Tags: , , , , , , ,

On Oct 16th ‘Uutuus’ & ‘Selfish’ played definitely in Luxemburg!!! [Brob: I thought there was a 2nd gig at the V.V. on that tour and so does Petri…]

Wim De Leersnijder

‘Corpus Christi’ (from Oostrozebeke) played an unannounced set with Peter Vancolen on bass (see pics). [Wim: They only did 4 songs. The guys of ‘Disrupt’ insisted to see/hear them play.] Their ‘normal’ line-up at that time was: Bram De Cock (drums), Peter ‘Coli’ Vancolen (vocals), Stef De Leersnijder (bass; later guitar) & in the very beginning Bart ‘Goemie’ Goeminne played guitar (and a bit later Tom Van Laere). On the split 7” with ‘Força Macabra’ (Fin) – on Genet recs (1993) – the songs were done by Stef, Bram, Goemie & Coli (recorded May that year).

‘Uutuus’ & ‘Selfish’ played several gigs around Belgium on that tour… Petri tells us who was playing in the bands (below). On free days between gigs they hung out in Gent (sleeping at the Genet recs HQ). I wasn’t working during that period and Bruno, Joeri & myself had started to merge our distributions into Fuse! (which was supposed to make some profits for the Vort’n Vis but that didn’t work out in the end…); so I showed them around town. I remember that they weren’t very interested in seeing the sites but more in the many kinds of beer that were available…

‘Hypocritical Society’, from Hannover (Ger), were Timo Schröder (bass), Dennis (vocals), Christian (drums), Arne & Steven (guitar)…. They had a double 7” (Pyre) out on the label run by Corey & Bernd, Equality recs… (Later they did the LP Failed & Loyal). Their music was compared to ‘Neurosis’. A friend from Berlin wrote me once that the cops came down to shut down a gig of them there because it was almost “ear-splitting” loud…

Markus Haas from Per Koro recs did most of the driving for the ‘Disrupt’ European tour in 1993…

The music of ‘Disrupt’ (from the Boston area) could be described as grindy/crusty D-Beat… From May 1991 on the line-up was Pete Kamarinos (vocals), Jay Stiles (vocals), Terry Savastano (guitar; later in ‘Grief’), Jeff Hayward (guitar; later in ‘Grief’), Bob Palombo (bass) and Randy Odierno (drums). After they toured Europe in Oct/Nov of 1993, the band broke up due to personal and musical differences.

Brob

I rode along in ‘Uutuus’ tourbus for 2 days together with ‘Kroezel’ [Frank Saen]. Great guys!

Kurt van den Eynden

That was the tourbus that left a black cloud [see guestbook-excerpt below] of smoke in the street when taking off and could still be even when it reached the other side of Ieper. One of those Finnish blokes also had had a nipple-piercing while being pissed out of his head, on one of the medieval stone slabs where the fish is sold. The day after I had to disinfect his nipple because it was done so amateurish. :-)

Jan Claus

Yeah! I think we played the Vort’n Vis twice on that tour. The line-ups were: ‘Uutuus’: Petri ‘Pete’ (guitar), Otto Itkonen (drums), Tuomo (bass) & Marko Karimo (vocals). Guitar-player Reko couldn’t make it… ‘Selfish’: Petri ‘Pete’ (guitar), Otto (drums), Jaakko ‘Jasko’ Penttinen (bass) & Sebastian ‘Basse’ Särekallio (vocals). Also ‘Selfish’s guitarist Vikke couldn’t come along. When we found out two people couldn’t tour, Otto and myself replaced one member of each band. I’m originally the drummer for ‘Uutuus’ but I could play the songs on guitar and Otto took care of the drums. I helped ‘Selfish’ playing guitar because Vikke was unavailable…

I have good memories from Vort’n Vis. But our playing/gigs sucked always. So ashamed for that :-( But it was amazing to see bands that I never could have seen otherwise. Loved the beer aswell. Especially that one with cherry taste!

I am pretty much the same guy. Young till I die. Still play in bands (‘Kuolema’, ‘Força Macabra’, ‘Jumalation’).

Pedro Anthares, ‘Força Macabra’

The day after this one the Fins played at the Pits in Kortrijk and some of them spent the night at my house and some stayed in Ingelmunster. ‘Corpus’ opened twice for them and we had a lot of fun. The Fins were a bit surly at first but after a few litres of alcohol, they opened up, before falling into a coma. I sang the last song with ‘Uutuus’…can ’t remember which one it was: not one of theirs but probably something by ‘Discharge’ or ‘Mob 47’ (a big influence of theirs). [pics by Wim & Bram]

‘Corpus’ was rooted in the marginal tradition of writing and singing in your mother-tongue (Dutch, in our case). ‘Zyklome-A’ had definitely opened our eyes for the possibilities of the Dutch language. Unfortunately we were to young to have seen that band live.

Bram De Cock, ‘Corpus Christi’ drummer

I have a TON of photos from that tour but I’m not sure that I have any from this gig in particular. We did 2 shows in Belgium [the first being 11 oct ’93 (‘Planète Interdite’, Liège): Disrupt (USA), Hypocritical Society (Ger), Hiatus (Bel)]. As far as stories…that whole tour was somewhat of a blur for obvious reasons but I do remember partying it up with ‘Hiatus’ after a show. I think they might have put us up for the night as well but I’m not too sure. One thing I do remember is trying to find our way back to where we were supposed to be sleeping for the night, wandering the streets of Ieper with only a vague recollection of which way to go – haha.

Randy Odierno, ‘Disrupt’ drummmer

Here’s a small summary of how I remember the Vort’n Vis and the days surrounding it… We had played the previous night (Oct 30th 1993) in Homburg, Germany. It was rather cold and we huddled around a barrel-fire outside the venue. The gig was great, lots of people going crazy and then we decided to get really crazy after the gig! October 31st (Halloween) is my birthday so we decided to start celebrating early! All I remember was a lot of broken glass, chairs and screaming until the sun came up! Needless to say I don’t think those in charge were too happy with us! We then drove to Ieper, Belgium; a trip which took all day but I slept through the whole thing!

Arriving at the Vort’n Vis I met my long-time pen-pal Steve McMillan from the band ‘Neuthrone’ and we settled in with the gear and the merchandise, drank quite a bit… ‘Corpus Christi’ played an unexpected short set followed by our Finnish friends ‘Uutuus’ and ‘Selfish’. ‘H.S.’ played their usual set – I think they played the same songs in the same order every night for 7 weeks! We got on and it was a super friendly, intimate atmosphere. I remember some lunatic jumping up on stage to grab Randy in between songs! He was obviously a drummer! I’m pretty sure we played Down My Throat, one of my favourite songs from the Unrest LP. All in all a very good gig! We walked around town afterwards and then went to Steve’s house to indulge in ‘Trouble’ and ‘Celtic Frost’ videos and plenty of beer and hashish! We then walked/stumbled back to the Vort’n Vis and all slept in a small room which was surprisingly comfortable! Another nice walk around town in the morning to enjoy the wonderful architecture and huge churches, and it was off again to the next mission!

I loved touring Europe and I especially loved Belgium, and I hope I get to do it again someday soon! Corey was the one who set up this tour and that’s how we ended up with the folks of ‘H.S.’! 23 shows, 9 countries… I doubt it will ever happen again! Jay and Pete are very against ever doing ‘Disrupt’ again. That’s ok but of course I would do it immediately if possible!

Terry Savastano, ‘Disrupt’ guitarist

‘Disrupt’ (pic byKurt van den Eynden) [Jan guarding the stage; in the crowd: Steve W., Arnaud W., Yannick,…]

photos below (full set available on request) with kind permission of Philippe Raynal:

‘Uutuus’

‘Hypocritical Society’

‘Selfish’

‘Corpus Christi’ (ad interim)

excerpts from the V.V. guestbook:

Translation by Petri: “Fuck, seems like we are playing here!” (‘Selfish’+’Uutuus’); “Smell a poo, we are also playing here!” (‘Juggling Jugulars’+’Fauna’, written in ’94)

additions wellcome!…

Comments
  1. Steve W. says:

    My old band ‘Neuthrone’ played with the ‘Selfish’ & ‘Uutuus’ guys at the Pits in Kortrijk. It was a funny and crazy gig. We even did 2 ‘Napalm Death’ covers (first & last time). Jimmy Anti was singing for us back then. After the gig in Ieper, the lads from ‘Disrupt’ stayed over at my place where we watched ‘Celtic Frost’, ‘Saint Vitus’ & ‘Melvins’ videos well into the night. I was still smoking weed back then and they taught me the trick with the coke can ;-).

  2. Leffe says:

    Don’t remember much of this gig but I remember the nipple-piercing incident! It was done by Nicholas (R.I.P.) from Gent. I know he sported a ‘Prince Albert’.
    I do recall another gig some time later with ‘Selfish’ and ‘Uutuus’ in (I guess) Ternat, with Hiatus and the last ever gig of ‘P.J.D.’. Sies was very ill, Spatje couldn’t make it so I had to learn singing while playing drums [There’s pics of that!] which was bloody difficult. Luckily Vrokker helped out on the gig and when we played ‘Dom Ljuger’ of ‘Mob 47’, the stage was full of drunken Fins screaming along. Great times!

  3. Terry Savastano says:

    I’m still in touch with Jeff (who now plays in ‘Morne’). I’m in a band called ‘Martyrvore’ (very black/thrash/death sounding)! Randy also; he plays in a prog-metal band called ‘The Under’.

  4. Otto Itkonen says:

    Ahhh… These pages fill me up with even more memories. I did drums for ‘Selfish’ (& ‘Uutuus’) back then and yes I´m still in the same business with Petri (Pedro Anthares)… Funny but I must have played at Vort´n Vis about a dozen times with all my bands in 1992-1994…
    Leffe, I recall the gig in Ternat as one of the highlights of the tour! Seeing ‘P.J.D.’ even if not completely in the best line-up that night was amazing. I´ve also got both ‘Selfish’ and ‘Uutuus’ on audio-tape from the mixing-desk that night…
    By the way: in Bram´s photo that guy (on the left) grinning with a glee, is a long-term beloved friend Simeon Mesmerized from Switzerland who did about a week with us back then. Hopefully he´s doing allright now…
    Otto
    http://www.selfishfinland.com
    http://www.forcamacabra.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.